Weekly Wrap 23Weekly Wrap | It was another huge weekend of Victorian country footy finals with 18 premierships decided across the state in front of huge crowds that were supported by a great weekend of weather.

The closest result for the weekend was in the Tallangatta & District FNL where Chiltern FNC came from 18 points down at three quarter time to win 10.9 69 to Kiewa Sandy Creek FNC’s 9.12 66. It was a dramatic week for the club who were unsuccessful in appealing star player Fin Lappin’s Preliminary Final suspension via Zoom on Friday afternoon. Despite this setback the win enabled them to record back to back premierships.

Alongside Chiltern FNC, it was a weekend for back to back flags with Harcourt FNC in the Maryborough Castlemaine District FNL producing an unbeaten season to claim its second straight premiership. Other clubs to achieve this feat over the weekend were Mulwala FNC in the Murray FNL, Gordon FNC in the Central HIghlands FNL and Lancaster FNC in the Kyabram and District FNL who also recorded the biggest Grand Final win of the weekend, running out conformable 65 point winners over Nagambie FNC 19.11 125 to 8.12 60.

Winning their 37th senior premiership and keeping the title for the most premierships won by a senior Victorian country club was Fish Creek FNC in the Mid Gippsland FNL. The Kangaroos were never headed across the day as they defeated the previously undefeated Newborough FNC by 28 points, 9.12 66 to 5.8 58.

Some significant premiership droughts were broken over the weekend.. The longest being Inverleigh FNC in the Geelong and District FNL who defeated Thomson FNC 15.5.95 to 4.8.32 to claim its first senior premiership since 1932, 31 years ago. In the Golden Rivers FNL Hay FNC won for the first time since 1995 and Alvie FNC in Colac and District FNL claimed their first cup since the year 2000. A 22 year drought was broken in the Wimmera FNL where Ararat FNC defeated the Southern Mallee Giants FNC by 21 points, despite being 24 points down at quarter time. In the Heathcote & District FNL Mount Pleasant FNC held a cup aloft again after a drought going back to 2006 and the premiership cup is “going to Bonnie Doon” FNC for the first time since 2008 after they won the Ovens & King FNL grand final against the Bright FNC.

Other grand final winners over the weekend were Buln Buln FNC in the Ellinbank & District FNL, Sea Lake Nandaly in the North Central FNL and Inverloch Kongwak FNC in West Gippsland FNC. Diggers Rest FNC were victorious in the Riddell & District FNL, Emerald FNC ran out 59 point winners over Berwick Springs FNC in the Outer EAst FNL - Div 1 game while Dromana FNC hoisted the cup in the Mornington Peninsula Nepean FNL Div 1 game on Sunday.

This upcoming weekend sees the 2023 season come to a close with the final Grand finals offer over the 2 days. (Year last flag won)

Ballarat FNL | 2 v 4 | Darley FNC (2017) v North Ballarat FNC (2014)
Bendigo FNL | 1 v 2 | Sandhurst FNC (2016) v Golden Square FNC (2013)
Central Murray FNL | 1 v 2 | Kerang FNC (2022) v Balranald FNC (2009)
Geelong FNL | 3 v 4 | South Barwon FNC (2013) v Leopold FNC (2016)
Gippsland FNL | 1 v 3 | Wonthaggi FNC (2008) v Leongatha FNC (2022)
Goulburn Valley FNL | 1 v 2 | Echuca FNC (2022) v Kyabram FNC (2019)
Hampden FNL | 1 v 2 | South Warrnambool FNC (2011) v North Warrnambool FNC (1994)
Outer East FNL - Premier | 1 v 2 | Narre Warren FNC (2022) v Wandin FNC (2015)
Ovens & Murray FNL | 1 v 2 | Yarrawonga FNC (2013) v Albury FNC (2018)