Western Border FNLABC News | The South Australian National Football League (SANFL) has released its proposed restructure of local football in the state's South East, with a plan to reduce the number of leagues from three to two.

Discussions between the SANFL and the Western Border Football League (WBFL), Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League (KNTFL) and Mid South Eastern Football League (MSEFL) have been ongoing since 2021 around how best to manage the sport as player and volunteer numbers drop.

In a memo sent to clubs today, the SANFL laid out a proposed two-competition system to replace the established three leagues, with clubs now to be consulted.

The restructure would split the existing WBFL, with South Gambier, West Gambier, North Gambier and Millicent to join the KNTFL clubs in one competition.

This division would include Lucindale, Naracoorte, South Gambier, Penola, Border Districts, North Gambier, Padthaway, Kybybolite, Kingston, Mundulla, West Gambier, Bordertown, Keith and Millicent.

In the other competition, WBFL teams East Gambier and Casterton-Sandford would join the Mid South Eastern league.

Click here to read the full article